IPL Teams – Everything You Should Know

Every year, we hear about the tournament named IPL but know nothing about it. Everyone around us keeps talking or discussing it and all we speak is nothing. However, the next time you stand in the middle of such a group, you won’t be speechless if you read this article. We are going to discuss what it is, which IPL teams participate and everything else you need to know about it.

IPL – What is it?

IPL, which stands for the Indian Premier League, is an annual tournament of Twenty-20 that began in the year 2008.

Founded by Lalit Modi, the then BCCI vice-president, the IPL was a result of India winning the World T20 of 2007.

When is IPL held?

IPL is held during the summer months, April and May every year and lasts for about seven weeks.

IPL Teams – Which teams Participate?

Now that you have understood what IPL really is, you must be interested in finding out the IPL teams that take part in the tournament. Well, the franchise-based competition has 8 teams that participate, with each IPL team representing a city in India.

When the IPL was founded, in order to determine the cities that the teams would be based in, an auction was held. This also included the owners of every team.

The eight IPL teams that took part in the IPL of 2008 were Mumbai, Mohali, Kolkata, Jaipur, Hyderabad, Delhi, Chennai and Bangalore.

The franchise of the Mumbai’s team, named the Mumbai Indians, was the most expensive of all the IPL teams, with Reliance Industries purchasing it in $111.9m.

Names of the IPL Teams

The following is a list of the names of the present IPL Teams based on their cities:
1. Bangalore – Royal Challengers Bangalore
2. Chennai – Chennai Super Kings
3. Mumbai – Mumbai Indians
4. Kolkata – Kolkata Knight Riders
5. Mohali – Kings XI Punjab
6. Hyderabad – Sunrisers Hyderabad
7. Delhi – Delhi Capitals
8. Jaipur – Rajasthan Royals
9. Rajkot – Gujarat Lions
10. Pune- Pune Warriors India
11. Kochi – Kochi Tuskers Kerala

Winners of the Past IPLs

IPL team

The first edition of the IPL, IPL 2008, was won by the IPL team Rajasthan Royals that is based in the city of Jaipur, the capital of the state. However, since then, no trophy has been won by the team.

The now-defunct Deccan Chargers won the tournament in 2009, with the Sunrisers (who replaced the Chargers in 2012) successful in 2016.

While the Kolkata Knight Riders took over the trophy in 2012 and 2013, the Mumbai Indians have been crowned thrice, i.e., in 2013, 2015, and 2017.

The most victorious IPL team other than Mumbai Indians is Chennai Super Kings, which has tasted victory thrice, that is, in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

The Bottom Line

The IPL teams have their own fan base with the IPL being one of the most famous and celebrated tournaments of the country. With a majority of cricket fans in India, IPL happens to bring a smile on the faces of the people just by its occurrence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *